Exhaust

The Sunbeam was delivered with a hole in the exhaust close to the engine and a missing muffler. Luckily, complete exhaust systems for Alpines are still available. I ordered the necessary parts and had them shipped directly toIMG_1687 Murray’s Auto Clinic II.

Why did I turn to a professional? First, I don’t have a lift, and I didn’t think I could get enough clearance under the car using jack stands to get the new parts over the rear axle and through the hole in the frame. Second, the last time I replaced a muffler–in a parking lot along the Charles River–I vowed never to do it again. Forty years later, with less strength and flexibility, I stayed the course.

 

Of course, for the price of the professional work, I could have2016-06-20 11.28.16 bought an ascetlene torch kit to free up rusted bolts.

Below is the shiny stainless steel muffler. You can see a bit of surface rust on the underside of the rear quarter panel. From the structural point of view, the car is very solid.

 

Leave a comment