Miata Delivery

I delivered Gail and Daniel’s Miata to Cambridge on IMG_2543April 8th. We had already planned a a family visit, and Southwest allowed me to cancel my ticket to Boston.

Before leaving, I took care of a few maintenance items, including  a new air filter and rear brake pads.  The old filter, on the right, was very dirty and was clearly due for a change. The rear brake pads measured at 4 millimeters, above the minimum for the Maryland safety inspection.  I opted to replace the pads so that Daniel and Gail would not need to worry at next year’s inspection.  InteIMG_2600resting fact: the Massachusetts safety inspection does not specify a minimum pad thickness but a minimum stopping distance. My father used to say that if the car stopped before hitting the wall at the inspection station, it would pass.

The drive to Cambridge was uneventful. It took about 10 hours in total, including stops to stretch my legs and lunch. The weather on arrival was perfect convertible weather, and Daniel drove sister Elizabeth to a business meeting.