Moving On…

With mixed feelings, I sold Sunny to a nice family in our old neighborhood. The new owners were delighted with their new acquisition, and are considering moving the car to sunny Florida.

Why did I sell? I had been considering a new project for some time mainly because the car was running so well and the next Sunbeam jobs would have

Sunny Rehomedinvolved a repaint. I could not bring myself to spend on the order of $10,000 for a proper job. And the $500 MACCO version could easily go to $2,000 because some of the old paint would need to be removed and because I would have wanted the inside of the doors and hood painted. Too much for a possibly low quality result.

I had thinking of the best sales venue when, out of the blue, a gentleman approached me at the hardware store asking if he could buy the Sunbeam in the parking lot.

What will fill the empty garage bay? I was smitten by a Pontiac Solstice at a dealer in the area. A two door convertible and short enough for our garage and my bicycle. But with little work needed it would not meet my need for mechanical projects.  Watch this space…