More Lighting

I had most of the lights working by the end of the summer, IMG_1526but I am still without working backup lights. You may remember the early post, “Lights and Wires,” that had a picture of a few wires hanging down from under the car. At the time, I had no idea of where they were originally connected. Since then, I concluded that they were most likely for the backup lights. One wire carried battery voltage, a fact I discovered when its insulation melted against the exhaust pipe and caused sparks and smoke. I tested the other wire by connecting it to the battery (through a fuse). The backup lights worked, so I knew I was on the right track.

But where was the switch to turn on the lights img_1164when the car was put into reverse? The wires I had found had been cut, so I couldn’t trace them, and the shop manual did not show a reverse switch. I looked at the transmission from under the car and found no wires or switches. Fortunately, the Sunbeam internet forum had the answer: pull up the carpet and remove one of the cover panels. There is was, but would it work? To the right you can see black and red test leads connected to the left side of the transmission. I put the shift lever into reverse and found continuity in the circuit.  Success.

Before closing the access panel, I attachedimg_1166 wires to the switch and routed them to the underside of car. I will connect them to the lights and a power source in the next few months.