Interior III

The Sunbeam’s center console was looking very shabby: he covering was pealing off of the outside and the inside compartment showed signs of surface rust.  I purchased more of the black vinyl used on the door and kick panels and got to work.

With the console out of the car, I stripped and cleaned it and then sprayed on some primer and a few coats of black paint on the interior. The results? A much improved interior and a good base for covering the exterior.  The exterior is also much improved with new vinyl. In retrospect, however, I have used one sheet of the covering and avoided the seam on the sides. (See right hand picture.)

The knee pad under the dash board was next. The pad is actually a steel brace that runs across the interior and supports not only the dash but also the steering wheel, hood release, and vent controls. There is a foam pad and vinyl covering.

The vinyl knee pad wasn’t in bad shape, but the foam had turned to dust. I ordered new foam in the correct shape from one of the two Sunbeam parts suppliers in the United States and got to work. I used contact cement to bond the pad to the steel bar and then stretched a strip of vinyl around the curves. A few zip ties and a lot of tugging produced a good, almost pro quality, result.

I am finished with interior work in the cockpit area for now. My next task: clean up the rear package shelf.