Electric Fan Upgrade

Sunbeams were not designed for the hot weather and traffic that we now experience in Washington, DC.  So I was not surprised when the engine temperature needle moved very close to the red zone after a few traffic IMG_1421lights last summer.

The internet suggests adding an electric fan to address Overheating, which I did last year.  Unfortunately, the single fan did not seem to do the trick, possibly because I removed the original mechanical fan when I added the electric one. Most mechanical fans of this era are attached to the engine’s water pump, and if the fan is out of balance it can destroy the water pump. This happened in my 1965 Peugeot, and I did not want that to happen again.

The solution? I added a second electric fan, this time to the engine side of the radiator. I now have a 10 inch pusher fan mounted on the grill side of the radiatorIMG_1735 and a 9 inch puller fan on the engine side.

Does it work? So far, so good.  I took the picture on the right at the traffic light at the intersection of Pennsylvania Avenue and 17th NW in Washington. The building on the right is the Old Executive Office Building, and the trees ahead are shading the White House.  It was a 90 degree day, and the engine did not boil over.