Overheating

I drove Sunny the Sunbeam about two miles from our garage to Murray’s Clinic for the new exhaust. I picked it (him?) up on a hot afternoon and I noticed that the temperature gauge was moving close to the red warning

at a traffic light. Researching on the Sunbeam forum, I learned that many owners have converted to electric fans to address overheating in traffic.

I found an inexpensive 10 inch fan on Amazon and ordered it with a thermostatic controller and relay. It turns out that the fan came in a “puller” configuration, that is it was set up to mount on the engine

side of the radiator and “pull” air through. I wanted to mount the fan on the grille side of the radiator, so I needed to remove the fan blades and flip them over. I also needed to reverse the wiring so the positive (blue) lead from the fan is attached to ground (right photo). The controller turns the fan on at a preset temperature, which is adjustable. The fan itself attaches to the radiator with zip ties.

My first installation did not go well. The fan vibrated noticeably,  enough for it to be obvious when the engine was running. I did not want to risk damage to the radiator, so I contacted Amazon. They credited my account, and I purchased a more expensive model.

Leave a comment