New Engine I

The new engine arrived from Florida shortly after img_1198election day. The seller–Mike from Jupiter–suggested I try Uship.com, a website marketplace for shippers and those who need something moved. I sought bids to move a car engine from Florida to Maryland (zip code to zip code), and within 24 hours I had six bids. Several potential bidders asked questions, the most common of which was, “will there be someone to help load and unload?”

Steve, on the right, was available and had good ratings on the Uship website. I accepted his bid, and within a week he and the engine were in my driveway. Steve told me that his main business was hauling boats to img_1200and from Florida. Picking up cargo for the return trip seemed to be part of his business model.

The first order of business was to shift the new engine from the hoist to an engine stand. We had used the hoist for the 818 kit car project, in that case to lift the engine and transmission from the donor Subaru and then put it into the kit car. This time, I wanted to put the new Sunbeam engine onto a stand so that I could replace some gaskets and transfer parts.img_1201

I had a bit of trouble with the transfer. On my first try, the legs of the engine stand interfered with the legs of the hoist so I could not bring the stand close enough to the engine. What to do? The careful viewer might notice that the chains holding the engine to the hoist are much shorter in the third picture. This increased the distance from the pivot point of the hoist to where the engine hung from the from the hoist arm. I gained about five inches, more than enough for the engine to meet the stand.  Thank you, Daniel.