License Plate Bracket

In previous posts, you may have noticed that Sunny lacked a front license plate, which are required in Maryland. With the front bumper installed, I decided it was time to fabricate a a bracket. The picture below is a blowup of the valancefront valance, before the bumper was installed. You can see two rusty bolts on either side. These are to attach a license plate.In the center  you can see two tears in the sheet metal. Paul welded these closed when he repaired the bumper mount.

Unfortunately, the mounting bolts are somewhat img_2071recessed behind the center of the valance. My challenge, then, was to make a bracket that was proud of the mounting bolts but also strong enough to withstand pressure from the wind at 60 miles per hour.

I went to my steel scrap box and came up with a piece of bar stock left over from the 818 project and a some galvanized steel that I was able to bend into a “U”shape. My idea was to attach the small side of the “U” to the the car and the opposite side to a bar that would fit across the valance.  Just above is the U shaped piece in the vise ready to be cut into two pieces 3/4″ wide. The blue tape marks the first cut line. You can see my angle grinder in the background.

Just above is the finished bracket and license plate. Not elegant, but functional. And I was able to recycle some scraps from the basement. In the picture on the left, you can see the black paint, where Paul welded up two tears in the valance. The round hole in the middle is for a hand starter crank. The hole is now covered by the license plate.