Neat and Clean in the Garage

Staying neat and clean in the garage is nearly impossible, especially when old English cars are involved. I try hard, especially since I do not want to bring dirt aimg_2072nd oil into the house. Brake fluid is a big problem since it can be colorless and is corrosive.

I try to use drip pans and cardboard to catch leaks before they hit the floor. On the right is an aluminum catch pan, similar to a very large cookie sheet under the Sunbeam. It is large enough to catch engine leaks, but is not long enough to catch drips from the engine and transmission at the same time.

For cleanup of drips that do reach the floor, I have img_2363used Safety Absorbent, a clay-based mixture that soaks up oil and other liquid spills.  I keep it in a five gallon bucket and scoop it out as needed. For reference, I used less than a bucket when building my Subaru-based kit car. I have already been through a full bucket with the Sunbeam. A few weeks ago I needed more absorbent and looked for more while at Home Depot buying mouse exorcism supplies. They didn’t have the granular, clay-based product that I have used for years, but did have a similar product, Zep Absorbent Powder. It was advertised as dust free and more absorbent than clay. So far, I am very pleased;  it picks up oil almost immediately and leaves the floor clean enough so that shoes do not pick up any oil.

I also try to keep my garage clothing clean to avoid bringing oxicleandirt into the house. As an added measure of safety, I wash dirty clothes separately. I have tested several laundry products and found OxiClean to be the best stain remover.