Wiring–Almost Complete

My rewiring job is nearly finished. I stripped out all of the old wiring harness, with the exception of the dashboard instrument lights, the img_1303heater fan switch, and the main power feed from the battery to the starter solenoid. I plan to replace the main power feed soon, but will leave the instrument lights as is, mainly because I would need to find replacement bulb sockets that fit into the Smith instruments. To the right you can see all of the gauges and switches back in the car.

Was it worth the effort?  Yes, I think so mainly because of lower risk of an electrical short circuit and fire. Most of the old wires were in good condition, with the exception of a few wires attached to the ignition switch. I believe these burned when the ignition switch  img_1294shorted against part if the instrument panel. The new wiring now includes a main fuse so that this cannot happen in the future. A short will trip the fuse before a wire can burn. The main fuse is the black box on the right side of the picture with the thick red wires. It connects the fuse block to the battery power.

The new wiring has 12 fused circuits, compared with two in the original Sunbeam wiring. All wiring, with the exception of the starter, is now protected against short circuits. I don’t understand why the Sunbeam engineers designed a car with only img_1308two fuses and many unprotected circuits.

In addition to safety, I had hoped that my wiring would be neater under the hood and dashboard. So far, I have been partially successful. On the one hand, there are now more wires, especially under the dash because of the added fuses. On the other hand, they are mostly organized into bundles that I will eventually wrap in a plastic coating, or loom. I can also shorten and reroute some of the wires. These steps will need to wait until I replace the main battery cable. I will also reroute the speedometer cable, which the careful observer may see currently runs behind the brake pedal. Oops.

Would I do it again? Yes, for the piece of mind. The wiring kit from Pete’s Performamce Wiring was well worth the investment.