Windshield

When the car arrived in 2016, the windshield was fIMG_3813oggy around the edges. I could not get it clean and subsequently learned that the fog was caused by separation of the different layers that make up safety glass. The only cure was replacement. Fortunately, new windshields are available as is the rubber gasket that holds the glass to the frame. I ordered a kit when they were on sale at British Victoria, one of the Sunbeam parts suppliers in the United States. Turns out they are owned by LMC truck parts. The box sat in the basementIMG_3819 for almost a year before I got around to installing it.

According to the the Sunbeam forum, there are two different ways to install a windshield–with the frame on or off of the car. I opted for the frame on method because it seemed easier without a second pair of hands. The first step was to remove the stainless steel trim. An easy job. The side pieces are held in with rivets, which I easily removed with a 1/8 inch drill. The larger top and bottom pieces are help in with the rubber gasket. I used a hammer andIMG_3821 a piece of hard plastic to get them out without damage.  The good news is that the frame and body were in great shape. I found a bit of surface rust, which cleaned up with a few swipes of a scouring pad. I added some primer/rust inhibitor for good measure.

Installing the glass was not hard. The key is to get the edge of the frame into the corresponding groove in the windshield rubber gasket. The internet recommends putting a strong string or cord into the groove and then setting the glass in place against the frame. One then pulls on the string, which then pulls the gasket lip IMG_3826over the metal frame. I was a bit skeptical, but it worked. I was left with a few places where the gasket did not go completely into place, and I used a plastic trim tool to complete the job. I am thinking my string was too thin.

I am happy with the result. The windshield looks great, and driving the car with an unobstructed view of the road is a new experience. I think the Tappet brothers once said, ‘if you are tired of your car, try a new windshield and tires. You will think you have a new car. To the right you can see the new glass before I put back the trim.

When it comes time to paint the Sunbeam, I think I will remove the windshield in its frame. This should be easy.