Where There is Smoke

I was working under the dashboard trying to remove air from oil pressure gauge and line. Much to my surprise and dismay, I smelled smoke and heard a cimg_1263rackling noise very close to my head. I spotted the problem; a wire connected to the ignition switch was burning. I saw where it was grounded to the chassis and pushed the wire away. The fire stopped in a few seconds. You can see the burned insulation on the brown wire near the center of the picture.

My immediate problem was how to keep the bare wire away from metal parts while I disconnected the battery. I could reach the battery, which is behind the passenger seat, with my left while holding the bare wire out of the way with my right. But I didn’t have a wrench within my reach. I was able to use a screwdriver to hold the offending wire in place. Crisis averted.

What about a long-term solution? I knew that img_1256the 50 year old wires were stiff and the insulation brittle and that mechanics over the years had added to the electrical system. I found that new wiring harnesses are readily available, and  I took this as an indication that I should replace all wires in the car. I pulled out the dashboard and went to work. The tags hanging in the picture to the right label all of the under dash connections.

The new wiring arrived from North Dakota, and I happened to glance at the directions. Step one? Strip all of the old wiring and toss it away. No need for the tags.